Prof Hugh Griffiths elected President of IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society

19 September 2011


Prof Hugh Griffiths

Prof Hugh Griffiths

The THALES/Royal Academy of Engineering Chair of RF Sensors in the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering has been elected President of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society for a two year term from January 2012.

The Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society is one of 45 Societies within the Institute of Electronic and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Its activities cover engineering of complex systems for space, air, ocean, or ground environments, including navigation, avionics, radar, sonar, and command and control, within industry, academia and government research organisations.

The IEEE is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. It covers all sorts of research, including not only electronics and electrical engineering but also computer science. It is based in the USA and has more than 400,000 members worldwide.

Griffiths has led radar research at UCL for more than 20 years. His group carried out some of the first experiments in passive radar, and recently published first results on the statistical nature of bistatic radar sea clutter.

He is a past recipient of the IEEE Nathanson Award and the Maxwell and Mountbatten Premium Awards of the IEE, and he was elected to Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 1997.

Speaking about his election, he said: “This is a great honour, both personally and because it shows the strength of UCL in this area. I am looking forward immensely to taking up the role.”

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on Tumblr
Latest news from UCL Engineering
From Fixing Bikes to the Royal Academy: IEP Student George’s Scholarship Success
Move of UCL Engineering in Australia to UniSA Mawson Lakes Campus
Professor Alistair Greig awarded Principal Fellowship of Higher Education Authority